a need for an organized independent colored nurses club

In 1945, due to practices of racial exclusion, colored nurses were denied membership in the Mississippi Nurses Association, therefore, six colored registered nurses in Jackson, Mississippi had the conviction that there was a need for an organized independent colored nurses club. This club would focus its concerns for equal pay, benefits, and adequate staff. This group called upon other colored registered nurses to assist with the formation of an organization to share information and pool their efforts and resources to aid in improving the status of colored nurses in Jackson. It was at this time the Colored Registered Nurses Club became a reality. All meetings were held every month in members’ home on a rotated schedule until the late 1970s. 


Mrs. Mattie Rundles, First President*

Mrs. Mary Hankins Harris, First Secretary*

Mrs. Johnnie Wilson, First Chaplin*

Mrs. Rosie L. Mitchell, Second President*

Mrs. Mae Ellen Mahafey Graham*

Mrs. Jean Frazier*


Association Motto

“An Organization Dedicated To Excellence in Healthcare”

Association Colors

Royal Blue and White

Association Flower

Blue Carnation

Association Headquarters

Jackson, Mississippi

Association Newsletter

Eliza’s Notes

Our Districts

District I Tupelo 1989
District II Greenville 1988
District III* Columbus 1987
District IV Jackson 1945
District V Meridian 1985
District VI Natchez 1985
District VII* Biloxi 1988
Hattiesburg 1992


Past Presidents

Shana Cummings District I 2017-2019
Patricia Kirksey District II 2015-2017
Eulanda Armstrong District IV 2013-2015
Kaye Killings Mayfield District IV 2011-2013
Betty Young District V 2009-2011
Barbara Field District I 2007-2009
Dr. Audwin Fletcher District IV 2005-2007
Cheryl Rainey District I 2003-2005
Dr. Sonja Fuqua District IV 2001-2003
Meg Brown District VI 1999-2001
Stella Harris District IV 1997-1999
Dr. Renée Williams District IV 1995-1997
Delores Johnson District V 1993-1995
Norma West District VI 1991-1993
Rita Wray District IV 1989-1991
Margaret Johnson District IV 1985-1989