District VI

Installation of Officers

Officers of the Eliza Pillars Registered Nurses of Mississippi (EPRNM) District VI were installed for the 2018-2020 term on September 15, 2018 at the Alcorn State University School of Nursing Natchez Campus. Mayor Darrell Grennell administered the oaths of office and delivered the charges to service at the event.

EPRNM, named for Eliza Farrish Pillars, Is devoted to excellence in nursing and community service. Pillars was the first African-American nurse employed by the Mississippi State Department of Health. The organization is a state nursing association comprised of six geographical districts. District VI consists of the Natchez region.

Presentation of Scholarship

District VI presents a scholarship each year to an undergraduate nursing student who demonstrates academic excellence and professional attributes in a program of study. The recipient must write a noteworthy essay titled, “What do I have to Offer the Profession of Nursing.” Jarvis Zakea Malone is recipient of the 2018 undergraduate scholarship. The award was presented following the installation of officers. Malone is a native of Mound Bayou, MS. She is a senior in the Bachelor of Science in Nursing Program at Alcorn State University. Recognized for her excellence in academia, Malone maintains a spot on the President’s List at Alcorn and is a member of Sigma Chi Iota Honor Society.

In addition to her academic achievements, Malone is affiliated with civic organizations and is committed to community service. She is a member of the National Society of Leadership and Success, Camp Hope for girls, and has participated in Delta Epsilon Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Highway Cleanup project. She has volunteered in blood drives over the years. Malone continues to demonstrate her devotion to service by participating in numerous local and regional service projects. Malone is a member of the Greater Bethel African Methodist Episcopal Church in Mound Bayou where she sings in the choir and has spoken during Children’s Day services.

Members of EPRNM District VI embrace Malone and her academic achievements in nursing and her devotion to community service.

Installation of Eliza Pillars District VI 2018 – 2020 officers

Left to right:  Dr. Meg Brown, standing in for Delores Williams (absent), Parliamentarian Verna Batiste, standing in for Anna Laura Tillage (absent), Sargent at Arms, Joyce Griffin, Chaplain,  Frances Morris, Treasurer, Cleopathia Turner, Finance Secretary, Alberta Wolfe, Assistant Recording Secretary, Dr. Sarah Ware, Recording Secretary, Norma West, Vice-President, Nia Day, President, Mayor Darrell Grenell, administered the oaths of office

EPRNM District VI 2018 Undergraduate Scholarship Recipient

Left to Right: Verna Batiste, 2016 – 2018 District VI President, Jarvis Malone, 2018 Undergraduate Scholarship Recipient, Dr. Meg Brown, District VI Scholarship Chairperson, Nia Day, 2018 – 2020 District VI President